Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3 Guide – How To Unlock All Characters (Including Secret Ones)

Here’s how to unlock each character and where to find them.

Posted By | On 29th, Jul. 2019 Under Video Game Tips

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3

Unlocking heroes in Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order is a matter of completing missions in Story Mode. While there are some heroes (and villains) that require additional effort, the majority are doled out as the plot progresses. When does each hero appear though?

Star-Lord, Gamora, Drax the Destroyer, and Rocket and Groot aka the Guardians of the Galaxy are available by default. Let’s take a look the various levels that you have to play through to unlock each respective hero.

Where to Unlock Heroes:


  • Black Panther

The Raft

  • Captain America
  • Crystal
  • Captain Marvel
  • Falcon
  • Iron Man
  • Spider-Man
  • Black Widow
  • Thor
  • Hulk
  • Scarlet Witch
  • Wolverine
  • Spider-Man Miles Morales (Becomes unlocked in second boss fight)
  • Ms. Marvel (Becomes unlocked in second boss fight)
  • Spider Gwen (Becomes unlocked in second boss fight)
  • Luke Cage
  • Venom (Must be defeated to unlock)

Dark Dimension

  • Doctor Strange
  • Elsa Bloodstone
  • Ghost Rider

Avengers Tower

  • Wasp
  • Hawkeye


  • Daredevil
  • Iron Fist

Xavier Institute

  • Nightcrawler
  • Psylocke
  • Deadpool

Unlocking Secret Characters

When you’ve unlocked every character through the Story Mode, there are a handful of secret characters that you can work towards getting via the Infinity Rifts. Keep in mind that you’ll have to sink in a fair bit of time for some of these.


In Chapter 9, head to Infinity Rift Sigma and take on Boss Wave: Defeat Ebony Maw and Four Bosses. It requires defeating Ebony Maw, Supergiant, Cull Obsidian, Corvus Glaive, and Proxima Midnight. Fortunately, you only have to fight them one at a time. The Trial is level 45 and Loki is unlocked at the same level. Note that the game must be beaten on Mighty difficulty to access Loki.


The big bad Thanos is also playable and requires finishing the last chapter on Superior difficulty (which becomes available after completing the game). After that, head to Infinity Rift Lambda to play Ultimate: The Black Order. It’s a level 65 Trial and requires fighting the Black Order including Thanos. Complete this and Thanos becomes available at level 80.


In Chapter 3, you can access the Gamma Infinity Rift to play Ultimate: Bad Business. It’s a level 30 Trial and requires beating Kingpin, Ronan, and Juggernaut. After it’s completed, Elektra will be unlocked at level 30.


In Chapter 5, you’ll gain access to the Trial Boss Wave: Klaw and Two Bosses in the Psi Infinity Rift. This requires defeating Klaw, Kingpin and Doctor Strange and is a level 38 Trial. Successfully complete it and Magneto becomes available at level 38.

Awesome Stuff that you might be interested in


Copyright © 2009-2018 All Rights Reserved.