New Crucible Ranks Coming To Destiny 2

Will this convince you to get back into Destiny 2?

Posted By | On 28th, Apr. 2018 Under News | Follow This Author @teh_jackson

Destiny 2 Warmind_02

On May 8th, Bungie hopes that their new expansion for Destiny 2: Warmind, will recapture the light that the title began with when the content becomes available on all platforms that support base Destiny 2. In addition to the promise of more security on the PVP Crucible, there’s new ranks for players to earn.

As players play and win more matches in the crucible, they’ll be granted ranks befitting their deeds, from a mere Guardian, to Brave, Heroic, Fabled, Mythic and finally Legendary. Moving up the ranks grants players increasing amounts of Crucible Tokens, Engrams and Masterwork Cores based on their achievements.

Further sub-ranks called Valor and Glory can be earned through dedicated play, though the details to those are best read below the story for those interested. These new ranks apply only to Crucible, and not to Iron Banner or Trials. Is borrowing this mechanic from Overwatch going to save Destiny 2? Let us know your thoughts in the comments.

“What are Seasonal Crucible Ranks?”
Seasonal Crucible Ranks are comprised of two key mechanics: a level and rank points. As players earn points in each rank, they will level up and unlock new rewards for Shaxx to dole out in the Tower. Leveling up gives players an assortment of Crucible Tokens, Crucible Engrams, and Masterwork Cores depending on how far up they have leveled. There are six specific Crucible Ranks that players can reach, starting with the rank of “Guardian” and ending with players becoming “Legend.” Here is the full break down of what levels each Crucible Rank will feature:
  • Guardian
  • Brave
  • Heroic
  • Fabled
  • Mythic
  • Legend
“What types of Seasonal Crucible Ranks are there?”
Starting in Season 3, we’re launching two Crucible Ranks: Valor and Glory.
Valor is a progression rank that goes up as you complete matches. Winning helps you move up faster and there are no loss penalties. Valor Ranks serve to showcase a player’s time commitment to playing Crucible. As players win, they will accumulate a win streak that will give players bonus points for each subsequent win. These win streaks will cap out after five wins, and then reset. Try to see how often you can hit a full five win streak! Players who complete their Valor Ranks can choose to reset them to begin their journey anew and even make progress toward some rewards that require a fixed number of resets.
Glory is a progression rank earned in the Competitive playlist that goes up as you win matches, but down as you lose. Closing out wins is how players are going to move up here. Glory Ranks serve to showcase the mastery players have in some of our most intense game modes, and show how they stack up against worthy opponents. Glory features the same win streak system from Valor but with the addition of loss streaks that work similarly. As players lose consecutive matches, they will lose more and more points. This means no game is without its stakes, so it’s best to keep on your A-game.
“What do I earn for moving up the Ranks?”
Beginning in Season 3, new crucible rewards will be attached to Seasonal Crucible Ranks. This means that armor ornaments, emblems, and new weapons will require players to earn both Valor and Glory ranks to acquire them. Players receive reward packages when reaching a new level in Valor or Glory. (Note: Players receive Glory reward packages only the first time a new rank is reached in a season; if you lose a match and drop a rank, you do not receive another reward package when ranking back up.)
In addition to the suite of Season 3 rewards, we’re planning on bringing a unique weapon to Glory Ranks for players to work toward. The weapon will only be available for the duration of the season and once the season ends, it will disappear for a long, long, long time. This season we have a new weapon called Redrix’s Claymore. This Pulse Rifle features a unique perk set in Outlaw as well as a new synergistic perk called “Desperado” – “Reloading while Outlaw is active increases your rate of fire.” This translates to defeating enemies in the same three bursts it currently takes from a high-impact Pulse Rifle, just much faster. Make sure to land your headshot kills and you can keep Desperado and Outlaw running indefinitely.

Awesome Stuff that you might be interested in

Keep On Reading


Copyright © 2009-2018 All Rights Reserved.