Destiny 2: Every Engram Type And How To Farm Bright Engrams

Engrams, and how to get them.

Posted By | On 15th, Sep. 2017 Under Video Game Tips | Follow This Author @Pramath1605

Destiny 2

Engrams are basically loot drops- you get these decrypted, and you earn gear and rewards. This guide is a quick runthrough of what each Engram type is, and the best way to farm Bright Engrams- the currency needed to obtain things like the Sparrow Vehicle in the game.

Bright Engrams – These need to be decrypted by Tess Everis. These can be purchased by using Silver. This engram consists of many rewards such as ghosts, ornaments, shaders, mods, ships, emotes and other stuff.

White Engrams – Available duing beginning of the game but near the end game, White Engram drops are mostly consumables. Gear you get from these Engrams only has slot for one additional perk.

Green Engrams– These are the most common Engram types, and they get you a piece of armor at Green or higher rarity. They give you two slots for perks in addition to their intrinsic perk.

Yellow Engrams – You can mode these using ornaments.  Exotic Gear is hugely powerful, extremely specialized, has four perk slots, plus extremely powerful intrinsic perks built in.

Blue Engrams – These are also automatically decrypted (tough sometimes you may find ones that need to be decrypted, which have a small chance of giving you a Legendary or Exotic); these offer three additional slots for perks.

Purple Engrams – These will lead to Legendary gear, which have three perk slots, and extremely high power.


  • You get Silver each time you level up past the XP level cap of Level 20- this Silver can be exchanged for Bright Engrams
  • You can purchase Bright Engrams via microtransactions
  • Just… play through the game, and you should get at least some of them

Awesome Stuff that you might be interested in


Copyright © 2009-2018 All Rights Reserved.