Fallout 4 “TheSurvivor2299” Site Is an Elaborate Hoax

This is the sound of hope dying.

Posted By | On 17th, Nov. 2013 Under News

Fallout Online
One of the more interesting stories this week revolved around Fallout 4, specifically a new website called TheSurvivor2299.com that bore resemblances to the series’ fonts. Morse code can be heard in the background, and someone actually translated it to a date: 12/11/13.

The problem? The site is most likely fake and not in any way related to any upcoming news of Fallout 4 or Bethesda Softworks.

The first clue was the WhoIs profile. Bethesda sites are usually registered via Corporate Domains, Inc. but this one was registered through GoDaddy. If that weren’t enough, the domain indicates a hosting company in Poland. The chances of an American publisher going outside the United States to register their domain, that too at a random place in Poland? Slim to none. Game Informer also reached out to Bethesda regarding the site but they declined to comment on it, as with most things Fallout 4 related.

Either way, it’s another dead-end in the hunt for Fallout 4, especially after leaks from a PR company for the game were revealed earlier. Will the follow-up to the post-apocalyptic RPG ever be announced? Maybe but it doesn’t seem to be any time soon.


Awesome Stuff that you might be interested in

  • Harvey Birdman, Esq.

    So you really haven’t been following the discussion on this, then? I mean, it certainly could be a hoax, but the evidence both for and against goes a lot deeper than this.

  • Chris John

    Hey Rivi sinha or whatever. Read this before saying “it’s fake because i know”:


  • Guest


  • dirk

    I’ll believe it when I see it. Someday I will see it but this survivor site is too much a stretch.

  • JimmyBob

    the whois profile says it’s registered to Zenimax, seems legit enough

  • Wrath Of Dragon



    Second:thesurvivor2299.com registrar whoisUpdated 45 minutes ago

    Domain Name: THESURVIVOR2299.COM
    Registrar URL: http://www.godaddy.com
    Updated Date: 2013-11-13 18:30:09
    Creation Date: 2013-11-13 18:30:09
    Registrar Expiration Date: 2014-11-13 18:30:09
    Registrar: GoDaddy.com, LLC
    Registrant Name: IT Dept
    Registrant Organization: ZeniMax Media Inc
    Registrant Street: 1370 Piccard Drive Suite 120
    Registrant City: Rockville
    Registrant State/Province: Maryland
    Registrant Postal Code: 20850
    Registrant Country: United States
    Admin Name: DNS Admin
    Admin Organization: ZeniMax Media Inc
    Admin Street: 1370 Piccard Drive Suite 120
    Admin City: Rockville
    Admin State/Province: Maryland
    Admin Postal Code: 20850
    Admin Country: United States
    Admin Phone: +1.3019482200
    Admin Fax:
    Admin Email: @ZENIMAX.COM
    Tech Name: DNS Tech
    Tech Organization: ZeniMax Media Inc
    Tech Street: 1370 Piccard Drive Suite 120
    Tech City: Rockville
    Tech State/Province: Maryland
    Tech Postal Code: 20850
    Tech Country: United States
    Tech Phone: +1.3019482200
    Tech Fax:
    Tech Email: @ZENIMAX.COM
    Name Server: NS1.THESURVIVOR2299.COM
    Name Server: NS2.THESURVIVOR2299.COM

  • Trails

    Interesting that bethesda recently trademarked fallout 4 in Europe…

  • Eric, Fallout fanatic

    How do you know that his translation is completly correct each “section” of the morse code is 1-3 letters. and there are 16 sections i looked up the dots and dash sounds, and none of them sounded like the translation to a number, I am just saying, if they declined then dosent that mean something?

  • “If that weren’t enough, the domain indicates a hosting company in Poland. The chances of an American publisher going outside the United States to
    register their domain, that too at a random place in Poland? Slim to
    none.” Because Hideo Kojima didn’t pretend to be Norwegian or something with a European based company called Moby Dick Studios pretending the Phantom Pain wasn’t Metal Gear Solid V.

    So guess what Ravi, you’re –

  • Guest

    Bad detective work is bad

  • Bigrob

    On 12/11/13 ZeniMax AKA Bethesda Softworks. ZeniMax is a merge of a lot of the top video game designer company’s. Example.. ID Software. Tango Gameworks and some others.. But the point is they will be releasing a Teaser Trailer for Fallout 4. YUP! Fallout 4. And everyone can call me crazy all you want. Because it is. And I already talked about it a few places and people think it’s a hoax… But they are idiots. Want to know why? Well I am not going to go through all the proof. But here is something easy anyone can check.

    Do a search for ZeniMax Media. And see that the headquarters office is just north of DC. And you will see that the address is 1370 Piccard Drive Suite 120 Rockville Maryland, 20850. Now do a search for Bethesda Softworks Address. Now… Read the address… That’s right.. It’s 1370 Piccard Drive Suite 120 Rockville Maryland, 20850. So there you are. And if you want more proof. Check out the new huge ZeniMax logo on the side of there building in white letters. So. There you are. Easy and Simple to figure out. So enjoy peoples =P

  • Polak

    POLSKA !!!!!

  • Vote Cruz

    Wait, is this article a hoax? OMG, is this inception?

  • Pingback: Fallout 4: The Survivor 2299 Is Back But Not Related to the Game « GamingBolt.com: Video Game News, Reviews, Previews and Blog()


Copyright © 2009-2017 GamingBolt.com. All Rights Reserved.